• Perspective
Published on 21 January 2022

Tensions over privacy in Europe

Crédit : Victorgrigas sur Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 3.0)

Credit : Victorgrigas on Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 3.0)

Europol, the European criminal police agency, probably had other plans for 2022 than sorting and deleting its datasets older than 6 months. However, the EDPS (European Data Protection Supervisor) ordered it to do so on 3 January, following an investigation that started in April 2019.

Big data

Europol coordinates the police activities of the 27 Member States of the European Union against criminal and terrorist networks. It plays a central role in analysing and sharing the data it receives from the various Member States.

The massive adoption of IT tools has generated more and more digital data for several years. When police forces collect this data in the context of an investigation, they no longer limit themselves to very targeted data, but retrieve larger data sets. Necessarily, the volume of datasets that States ask Europol to analyse increases, and at the same time the formats of the data they contain become more varied.

This requires Europol to use big data processing techniques to analyse these new datasets, which involve resource-intensive operations and, consequently, the storage of many intermediate datasets.

Europol Regulation

The agency soon realised that these processing operations raised compliance issues with the 'Europol rules' on personal data and turned to the EDPS, who ensures compliance with these rules.

Indeed, Europol has to define several requirements before each analysis project, including the categories of personal data, the categories of data subjects, the period of retention and the conditions of access. Once defined, it is no longer possible for Europol to process data that do not comply with these requirements. Furthermore, the only categories of persons whose data the agency can analyse are suspects, potential future criminals, contacts and associates, victims, witnesses and informants.

https://www.europol.europa.eu

The volume of these datasets is so huge that their content is often unknown before the data is extracted, in which case the agency is unable to confirm that all the information complies with the requirements of the Europol regulations.

Finally, in order to verify the veracity and reliability of the information, these datasets may be kept for several years after the extraction of the necessary elements for an investigation.

The EDPS warned Europol in September 2020 that the storage and processing of such datasets was not in line with Europol rules, after having recalled that compliance with these rules reduces the risk of associating an innocent individual with criminal activities, and avoids the consequences that such an association would have on his or her fundamental rights and freedoms.

Data Subject Categorisation

Following the Supervisor's warning, Europol implemented an architectural solution to isolate datasets dealing with persons that had not yet been categorised (Data Subject Categorisation, DSC), in order to minimise the risk of integration into its analysis work.

The agency also limited access rights to these datasets to technical teams dedicated to the identification of DSCs, and implemented a tagging system to indicate whether a DSC is completed or not. It has further assured the EDPS that data without a CSG will not be further analysed, will not be included in a general search and will not be shared with any State.

The problem is the retention period of these personal data which, despite secure storage, still do not comply with Europol rules. The agency has indeed proposed a quarterly review to decide whether to delete each dataset without CSG, keeping them "as long as necessary and proportionate to support the relevant investigation" - but without detailing the conditions of necessity and proportionality. The EDPS, on the other hand, considers that the storage of such data without a time limit continues to pose a significant risk to privacy, and has asked Europol to set a maximum retention period for non-CSD datasets.

Towards mass surveillance?

Europol replied to the EDPS that the proposed timeframe of 6 months would be insufficient to carry out the detailed analysis of the largest and most complex datasets necessary to determine their CSP. In addition, it stressed that some investigations were evolving over several years, and that new information might reveal links within the datasets without a CSP that would not have been identified initially.

Europol's insistence on retaining this data illegally raises concerns about its true aims and interests. Several experts fear that the agency has ambitions to conduct mass surveillance operations - starting with EDPS Supervisor Wojciech Wiewiórowski, who compared it to the NSA on its new data retention practices.

It further appears that Europol had initiated in 2020 the development of machine learning programmes to analyse their growing datasets, before the warning issued by the EDPS. These algorithms would inevitably process sensitive personal data, and the agency asked the EDPS whether it could dispense with the supervision of the EDPS in the initial phases of its AI training, since it had already received the warning for the retention of data that would be used for learning.

https://edps.europa.eu

The EDPS did not allow Europol to continue its developments, but the agency decided to ignore it. After an intervention by the EDPS, Europol finally shelved its machine learning programme in February 2021, without having trained it or used it for operational analysis.

EDPS decision

The Europol rules did not anticipate these big data issues and do not allow for an exemption to analyse whether personal data correspond to persons linked to criminal activities, nor do they define a maximum period of retention of data without a CSG.

The EDPS considers that the article that comes closest to this new need is the one defining the temporary analysis of a dataset to determine whether the data are relevant for Europol. As the maximum retention period for such data is 6 months, the EDPS has decided to impose the same limit on the storage of datasets without CSG.

Author: Paul Guillier

References

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/jan/10/a-data-black-hole-europol-ordered-to-delete-vast-store-of-personal-data

https://edps.europa.eu/press-publications/press-news/press-releases/2022/edps-orders-europol-erase-data-concerning_en

https://edps.europa.eu/system/files/2022-01/22-01-10-europol-order_faqs_en.pdf

https://www.europol.europa.eu/media-press/newsroom/news/europol%E2%80%99s-statement-decision-of-european-data-protection-supervisor

https://edps.europa.eu/system/files/2022-01/22-01-10-edps-decision-europol_en.pdf

https://edps.europa.eu/sites/default/files/publication/20-09-18_edps_decision_on_the_own_initiative_inquiry_on_europols_big_data_challenge_en.pdf

Article written by
La Minute Cyber

• Perspective
Publié le 21 janvier 2022

Tensions autour du respect de la vie privée en Europe

Crédit : Victorgrigas sur Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 3.0)

Crédit : Victorgrigas sur Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 3.0)

Europol, l'agence européenne de police criminelle, avait sans doute d'autres projets pour 2022 que le tri et la suppression de ses jeux de données datant de plus de 6 mois. C'est pourtant l'ordre que lui a donné le CEPD (Contrôleur européen de la protection des données) ce 3 janvier, à l'issue d'une investigation commencée en avril 2019.

Big data

Europol coordonne les activités policières des 27 États membres de l'Union Européenne contre les réseaux criminels et terroristes. Elle joue un rôle central dans l'analyse et le partage des données qu'elle reçoit des différents États membres.

L'adoption massive des outils informatiques génère depuis plusieurs années de plus en plus de données numériques. Lorsque les forces de police collectent ces données dans le cadre d'une enquête, elles ne se limitent plus à des données très ciblées, mais récupèrent des ensembles de données plus larges. Nécessairement, le volume des jeux de données que les États demandent à Europol d'analyser augmente, et dans le même temps les formats des données qu'ils contiennent deviennent plus variés.

Europol est ainsi amenée à utiliser des techniques de traitement propres au big data pour analyser ces nouveaux jeux de données, qui impliquent des opérations couteuses en ressources et, par conséquent, le stockage de nombreux jeux de données intermédiaires.

Europol Regulation

L'agence s'est vite rendu compte que ces traitements soulevaient des problèmes de conformité avec la "réglementation Europol" concernant les données personnelles et s'est tournée vers le CEPD, qui s'assure du respect de cette réglementation.

En effet, Europol doit définir plusieurs exigences avant chaque projet d'analyse, notamment les catégories de données à caractère personnel, les catégories de personnes concernées, la durée de conservation des données et leurs conditions d'accès. Une fois définies, il n'est plus possible pour Europol de traiter des données qui ne respectent pas ces exigences. En outre, les seules catégories de personnes dont l'agence peut analyser les données sont les suspects, les futurs criminels potentiels, les contacts et les associés, les victimes, les témoins et les informateurs.

https://www.europol.europa.eu

Le volume de ces jeux de données est si énorme que leur contenu est souvent inconnu avant l'extraction des données, auquel cas l'agence se retrouve dans l'impossibilité de confirmer que toutes les informations sont conformes aux exigences de la réglementation Europol.

Enfin, pour vérifier la véracité et la fiabilité des renseignements, ces jeux de données peuvent être conservés plusieurs années après l'extraction des éléments nécessaires à une enquête.

Le CEPD a averti Europol en septembre 2020 que la conservation et le traitement de tels jeux de données n'étaient pas conformes avec la réglementation Europol, après avoir rappelé que le respect de cette réglementation réduisait le risque d'associer un individu innocent à des activités criminelles, et d'éviter les conséquences qu'une telle association aurait sur ses droits et libertés fondamentaux.

Data Subject Categorisation

Après l'avertissement du contrôleur, Europol a mis en place une solution architecturale pour isoler les ensembles de données traitant de personnes qui n'avaient pas encore été catégorisées (Data Subject Categorisation, DSC), afin de minimiser le risque d'intégration dans ses travaux d'analyse.

L'agence a également limité les droits d'accès à ces jeux de données aux seules équipes techniques dédiées à l'identification des DSC, et a implémenté un système d'étiquettes pour indiquer si une DSC est terminée ou non. Elle a en outre assuré au CEPD que les données sans DSC ne seront pas analysées ultérieurement, ne seront pas incluses lors d'une recherche générale et ne seront pas partagées avec un État.

Là où le bât blesse, c'est la durée de rétention de ces données à caractère personnel qui, malgré un stockage sécurisé, ne sont toujours pas conformes à la réglementation Europol. L'agence a proposé en effet un examen trimestriel pour décider de la suppression ou non de chaque jeu de données sans DSC, en les conservant "aussi longtemps que nécessaire et proportionné pour le soutien à l'enquête concernée" - mais sans détailler les conditions de nécessité et de proportionnalité. Pour le CEPD en revanche, le stockage de ces données sans limite de temps continue de constituer un risque important pour la vie privée, et a demandé à Europol de fixer une durée maximale de rétention des jeux de données sans DSC.

Vers de la surveillance de masse ?

Europol a répondu au contrôleur que la durée proposée de 6 mois serait insuffisante pour réaliser l'analyse détaillée des jeux de données les plus grands et complexes, nécessaire pour déterminer leur DSC. De plus, elle a insisté sur le fait que certaines investigations évoluaient sur plusieurs années, et que de nouvelles informations pouvaient mettre en lumière des liens au sein des jeux de données sans DSC qui n'auraient pas été identifiés initialement.

L'insistance d'Europol à conserver ces données illégalement soulève des préoccupations quant à ses objectifs et intérêts véritables. Plusieurs experts craignent ainsi que l'agence ambitionne de mener des opérations de surveillance de masse - à commencer par le contrôleur du CEPD, Wojciech Wiewiórowski, qui l'a comparée à la NSA sur ses nouvelles pratiques de rétention de données.

Il apparaît de plus qu'Europol avait initié en 2020 le développement de programmes de machine learning pour analyser leurs ensembles de données de plus en plus volumineux, avant l'avertissement émis par le CEPD. Ces algorithmes traiteraient inévitablement des données personnelles sensibles, et l'agence a demandé au contrôleur si elle pouvait se passer de la supervision du CEPD lors des phases initiales de l'entraînement de son IA, puisqu'elle avait déjà reçu l'avertissement pour la conservation des données qui serviraient à l'apprentissage.

https://edps.europa.eu

Le CEPD n'a pas autorisé Europol à poursuivre ses développements, mais l'agence a décidé de passer outre. Après une intervention du contrôleur, Europol a finalement mis de côté son programme de machine learning en février 2021, sans l'avoir entraîné ni utilisé pour des analyses opérationnelles.

Décision du CEPD

La réglementation Europol n'ayant pas anticipé ces problématiques de big data, elle n'autorise pas de dérogation pour analyser si des données personnelles correspondent à des personnes liées à des activités criminelles, ni ne définit de durée maximale de rétention des données sans DSC.

Le CEPD estime que l'article se rapprochant le plus de ce nouveau besoin est celui définissant l'analyse temporaire d'un jeu de données pour déterminer si ces données sont utiles à Europol. La durée maximale de rétention de telles données étant fixée à 6 mois, le contrôleur a décidé d'imposer la même limite au stockage des ensembles de données sans DSC.

Auteur : Paul Guillier

Références

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/jan/10/a-data-black-hole-europol-ordered-to-delete-vast-store-of-personal-data

https://edps.europa.eu/press-publications/press-news/press-releases/2022/edps-orders-europol-erase-data-concerning_en

https://edps.europa.eu/system/files/2022-01/22-01-10-europol-order_faqs_en.pdf

https://www.europol.europa.eu/media-press/newsroom/news/europol%E2%80%99s-statement-decision-of-european-data-protection-supervisor

https://edps.europa.eu/system/files/2022-01/22-01-10-edps-decision-europol_en.pdf

https://edps.europa.eu/sites/default/files/publication/20-09-18_edps_decision_on_the_own_initiative_inquiry_on_europols_big_data_challenge_en.pdf

Article rédigé par
La Minute Cyber