• Perspective
Published on 28 January 2022

Présentation vulnérabilité Log4Shell

A new cyber risk was discovered by Alibaba Cloud Security teams on 24/11. This has led since 10/12 to a large number of attacks reported after the exploit was published on GitHub. This CVSS vulnerability of criticality 10 was announced under the name Log4Shell (CVE-2021-44228).

The vulnerability affects the Apache Log4j library, a ubiquitous Java package for millions of applications. In this article, you will find a presentation of the affected library, the potential impacts on your IS and the exploitation methods of the vulnerability, as well as the remedies to protect yourself.

1. Log4j?

Apache Log4j is a powerful logging library, distributed by the Apache Foundation through an open-source GitHub project. This means that it is maintained by a few members who use their free time to develop free applications for which you don't have to pay.

The Log4j utility is used in countless programs, as Sean Gallagher, senior threat researcher at Sophos, points out: "Log4j is a Java library that is used by many products. It specialises in event logging for applications. It can therefore be present in the darkest corners of an organisation's infrastructure, for example, any software developed in-house. Systems vulnerable because of Log4Shell should be a priority for IT security."

2. Vulnerabilities related to Log4j

The Zero Day vulnerability, nicknamed Log4Shell due to its possible exploitation, was quickly published as CVE-2021-44228.

As stated in the report by the LunaSec team of cyber security researchers, this vulnerability first found through a (multiplayer) server of the Minecraft video game, can affect anyone using the Log4j library and its packages (Log4j-core, Log4j-api, etc.) between version 2.0-beta9 and version 2.14.1, which gives an even greater attack scope.

A second article published by LunaSec describes the steps to follow to check if a system is vulnerable

(https://www.lunasec.io/docs/blog/Log4j-zero-day-mitigation-guide/).

The CVSS score ranked the Log4Shell vulnerability at 10, as a "critical" vulnerability. The criticality lies in the following areas:

- The Log4j exploit is easy to implement. A novice developer is able to perform it.

- The attack surface.

- Use in unauthenticated mode.

The scale is so large that very popular cloud services such as Steam or Apple iCloud would potentially be affected. It is important to know that even without directly using the Log4j library, one can be confronted with the vulnerability, as several frameworks such as Apache Struts, Druid, ElasticSeach, Kafka can depend on Java and its libraries, and are probably affected by this vulnerability. As a security measure, some prefer to take the site offline, as is the case in Quebec where nearly 4,000 government sites and services have been taken offline for security reasons.

The degree of impact of the attacker is defined by the privileges associated with the corrupted systems or services. With full user rights an attacker would have RCE (Remote Control Execution), he would have the freedom to install programs, display, or even delete data. Conversely, the corruption of systems with lesser rights reduces the attacker's impact.

Moreover, a user has published on GitHub a complete PoC, and updated since the publication of the vulnerability (https://github.com/tangxiaofeng7/CVE-2021-44228-Apache-Log4j-Rce), which makes the exploitation of this Log4Shell totally public and accessible to all.

Type of vulnerability: Injection (JNDI Lookup

1. Scan to identify vulnerable systems

2. Injection of malicious data through the JNDI component

3. Loading of malicious code into the vulnerable system

4. Compromise the vulnerable system and perform malicious actions: cryptojacking, Ransomware installation, building a Botnet

The following are the steps to be applied in relation to each stage of this pathway:

Step 1: Reduce the verbosity of applications exposed on the Internet

Contact the editors of my application solutions to check if they are exposed to this vulnerability and if a patch is available.

Step 2: Set up filters in your application firewalls (WAF) to block exploitation attempts

Prioritise patch management with version 2.16.0

Step 3: Filter and log outgoing server flows to limit them to authorised flows to trusted services (network hardening)

Step 4: Improve detection by performing an in-depth analysis of network logs (HTTP logs, DNS, etc.)

5. Log4Shell remediation

Cyber security professionals and Apache encourage users to quickly upgrade to version 2.16.0 where possible.

If technical teams are unable to do so, several other remedies are available to mitigate the vulnerability:

1. Between versions 2.10.0 and 2.15:

- Change the Log4j2.formatMsgNoLookups configuration parameter to TRUE.

or

- Remove the JndiLookup class in the classpath parameter to eliminate the main attack vector (researchers do not rule out the existence of another attack vector).

2. For versions prior to 2.10.0: modify the format of events to be logged with the syntax %m{nolookups} for data that would be provided by the user.

These manual remediation options above, can potentially impact the SOC (Security Operations Center) of companies because the SIEMs use this library and the new log formatting leads to malfunctioning of the event parsing.

There are also solutions that will allow you to fine-tune your security:

1. Update the IP blacklist of your defence systems based on :

- Threat Intelligence from manufacturers

- IP addresses of known malicious sources

2. Update the security equipment (F5, Fortigate ...) with the new rules predefined by the manufacturers based on the IOC of the vulnerability.

This vulnerability highlights the dependence of companies and software publishers on Free Software projects. The contributors of this Log4j library may not be paid for these projects and their support and responsiveness depend only on their own involvement.

(Source xkcd)

6. EVABSSI support

At EvaBSSI, we make Cyber Risk one of our priorities to support our clients' IS Performance. The Cyber Diagnostic is a set of technical and functional security tests with the following objectives

- Assess the overall security maturity

- Analyse the risks of the audited assets

- Propose an action plan to mitigate the identified risks

The audit consists of measuring and analysing the risks according to 8 security domains:

With this approach, we support you in creating a 360° vision of your IS and help you strengthen its security.

Thomas BOUVET, Othmane ERRAJI, Kevin FLORO, Mehdi SADOUN

Sources

https://blog.cloudflare.com/how-cloudflare-security-responded-to-Log4j2-vulnerability/ https://www.cert.ssi.gouv.fr/alerte/CERTFR-2021-ALE-022/

https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2021-44228

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Java_logging_framework https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Log4j https://logging.apache.org/Log4j/2.x/index.html https://www.jmdoudoux.fr/java/dej/chap-jndi.htm https://cyberwatch.fr/cve/cve-2021-44228-log4shell-comment-detecter-et-corriger-cette-vulnerabilite-sur-Log4j/

https://logging.apache.org/Log4j/2.x/manual/lookups.html https://gist.github.com/SwitHak/b66db3a06c2955a9cb71a8718970c592 https://www.lunasec.io/docs/blog/Log4j-zero-day) https://www.cert.ssi.gouv.fr/alerte/CERTFR-2021-ALE-022/ https://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2021/12/13/log4shell-explained-how-it-works-why-you-need-to-know-and-how-to-fix-it/

https://support.f5.com/csp/article/K19026212 https://www.truesec.com/hub/blog/apache-log4j-injection-vulnerability-cve-2021-44228-impact-and-response https://www.cadosecurity.com/analysis-of-initial-in-the-wild-attacks-exploiting-log4shell-log4j-cve-2021-44228

Article written by
Tristan Loret

• Perspective
Publié le 28 janvier 2022

Présentation vulnérabilité Log4Shell

Un nouveau risque cyber a été découvert par les équipes d’Alibaba Cloud Security le 24/11. Ce qui a mené depuis le 10/12 à un grand nombre d’attaques recensé après que l’exploit ait été publié sur GitHub. Cette faille CVSS de criticité 10 a été annoncée sous le nom Log4Shell (CVE-2021-44228).

La vulnérabilité concerne la bibliothèque Apache Log4j, un package omniprésent sur Java pour des millions d’applications. Au travers de cet article, vous retrouverez une présentation de la librairie concernée, les impacts potentiels sur votre SI et les méthodes d’exploitation de la vulnérabilité, ainsi que les remédiations pour s’en prémunir.

1. Log4j?

Apache Log4j est une bibliothèque de journalisation performante, distribuée par l'Apache Foundation à travers un projet GitHub Open-source. C’est à dire maintenue à jour par quelques membres qui utilisent leur temps-libre pour développer des applications libres et pour lesquelles on n'est pas obligé de payer.

L’utilitaire Log4j est utilisé dans d’indénombrables programmes, comme l’a souligné Sean Gallagher, chercheur senior sur les menaces chez Sophos : “Log4j est une bibliothèque Java qui est utilisée par de nombreux produits. Elle est spécialisée dans la journalisation d’évènement pour des applications. Elle peut donc être présente dans les recoins les plus sombres de l’infrastructure d’une organisation, par exemple, tout logiciel développé en interne. Les systèmes vulnérables à cause de Log4Shell devraient être une priorité pour la sécurité informatique.”

2. Les vulnérabilités liées à Log4j

La vulnérabilité Zéro-Day, surnommée Log4Shell de par son exploitation possible, a rapidement été publiée sous la nomenclature CVE-2021-44228.

Comme indiqué dans le rapport de l’équipe de chercheurs en cyber sécurité LunaSec, cette vulnérabilité premièrement trouvée à travers un serveur (multijoueur) du jeu vidéo Minecraft, peut toucher n’importe qui utilisant la bibliothèque Log4j et ses packages (Log4j-core, Log4j-api, etc.) entre la version 2.0-beta9 et la version 2.14.1, ce qui donne une portée d’attaque d’autant plus importante.

Un second article publié par LunaSec décrit les marches à suivre pour vérifier si un système est vulnérable (https://www.lunasec.io/docs/blog/Log4j-zero-day-mitigation-guide/).

Le score CVSS a classé la vulnérabilité Log4Shell à 10, comme une vulnérabilité “critique”. La criticité réside dans les axes suivants :

· L’exploit de Log4j est facile à mettre en œuvre. Un développeur novice est en mesure de le réaliser.

· La surface d’attaque.

· Utilisation en mode non authentifié.

L’ampleur est si grande que des services Cloud très populaires tels que Steam ou Apple iCloud seraient potentiellement touchés. Il est important de savoir que même sans utiliser directement la librairie Log4j, on peut se retrouver face à la vulnérabilité, car plusieurs Framework tels qu'Apache Struts, Druid, ElasticSeach, Kafka peuvent dépendre de Java et ses bibliothèques, et sont probablement touchés par cette vulnérabilité. Par mesure de sécurité, certains préfèrent mettre le site hors ligne, c'est notamment le cas au Québec où près de 4 000 sites et services gouvernementaux ont été mis hors ligne par sécurité.

Le degré d’impact de l’attaquant est défini par les privilèges associés aux systèmes ou services corrompus. Avec des droits d’utilisateur complets un attaquant bénéficiera d’un RCE (Remote Control Execution), il aurait la liberté d’installer des programmes, afficher, ou même supprimer des données. À contrario, la corruption de systèmes ayant moins de droit réduit l’impact de l’attaquant.

De plus, un utilisateur a publié sur GitHub un PoC complet, et mis à jour depuis la publication de la vulnérabilité (https://github.com/tangxiaofeng7/CVE-2021-44228-Apache-Log4j-Rce), ce qui rend l’exploitation de cette Log4Shell totalement publique et accessible à tous.

Type de vulnérabilité : Injection (JNDI Lookup

1. Scan pour identifier les systèmes vulnérables

2. Injection des données malveillantes à travers le composant JNDI

3. Chargement du code malveillant dans le système vulnérable

4. Compromission du système vulnérable et réaliser des actions malveillantes : cryptojacking, installation Ransomware, construire un réseau Botnet

 

Voici les mesures à appliquer par rapport à chaque étape de ce chemin :

Etape 1 : Réduire la verbosité des applications exposées sur Internet

® Prendre contact avec les éditeurs de mes solutions applicatives pour vérifier s'ils sont exposés à cette vulnérabilité et si un correctif est disponible.

Etape 2 : La mise en place de filtres au niveau de vos firewalls applicatifs (WAF) pour bloquer les tentatives d'exploitation

® Privilégier le patch management avec la version 2.16.0

Etape 3 : Filtrer et de journaliser les flux sortants des serveurs pour les limiter aux seuls flux autorisés vers des services de confiance (Durcissement réseaux)

Etape 4 : Améliorer la détection en réalisant une analyse approfondie des journaux réseau (Journaux HTTP, DNS, …)

5. Remédiation Log4Shell

Les professionnels de la cyber sécurité ainsi qu’Apache invitent à mettre à jour rapidement leur bibliothèque vers la version 2.16.0 lorsque cela est possible.

Si les équipes techniques n’ont pas la possibilité de le faire, plusieurs autres solutions de remédiations sont disponibles pour mitiger la vulnérabilité :

1. Entre les versions 2.10.0 et 2.15 :

· Modifier le paramètre de configuration Log4j2.formatMsgNoLookups à la valeur TRUE.

ou

· Supprimer la classe JndiLookup dans le paramètre classpath pour éliminer le vecteur principal d'attaque (les chercheurs n'excluent pas l'existence d'un autre vecteur d'attaque).

2. Pour les versions antérieures à 2.10.0 : modifier le format des évènements à journaliser avec la syntaxe %m{nolookups} pour les données qui seraient fournies par l'utilisateur.

Ces options manuelles de remédiation ci-dessus, peuvent potentiellement impacter les SOC (Security Operations Center) des entreprises car les SIEM utilisent cette bibliothèque de plus le nouveau formatage des logs entraînent des dysfonctionnements de Parsing des évènements.

Il existe aussi des solutions qui permettront de peaufiner votre sécurité :

1. Mettre à jour les IP blacklist de vos systèmes de défense en se basant sur :

· La Threat Intelligence des constructeurs

· Les adresses IP des différentes sources malveillantes connues à date

2. Mettre à jour les équipements de sécurité (F5, Fortigate ...) avec les nouvelles règles prédéfinies par les constructeurs en se basant sur les IOC de la vulnérabilité.

Cette vulnérabilité met en lumière la dépendance des entreprises et éditeurs de logiciels vis-à-vis des projets Libres. Les contributeurs de cette librairie Log4j peuvent ne pas être rémunérées pour ces projets et leur support et réactivité ne dépendent que de leur propre implication.

(Source xkcd)

6. Accompagnement EVABSSI

Chez EvaBSSI, nous mettons le Risque Cyber comme une de nos priorités pour accompagner la Performance du SI de nos clients. Le Diagnostic Cyber est un ensemble de tests de sécurité techniques et fonctionnels ayant pour objectifs de :

· Évaluer la maturité en sécurité globale

· Analyser les risques des actifs audités

· Proposer un plan d’actions afin de mitiger les risques identifiés

L’audit consiste à mesurer et analyser les risques suivant 8 domaines de sécurité :

Avec cette démarche, nous vous accompagnons pour créer une vision 360 de votre SI et vous aider à renforcer sa sécurité.

Thomas BOUVET, Othmane ERRAJI, Kevin FLORO, Mehdi SADOUN

Sources

https://blog.cloudflare.com/how-cloudflare-security-responded-to-Log4j2-vulnerability/ https://www.cert.ssi.gouv.fr/alerte/CERTFR-2021-ALE-022/

https://nvd.nist.gov/vuln/detail/CVE-2021-44228

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Java_logging_framework https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Log4j https://logging.apache.org/Log4j/2.x/index.html https://www.jmdoudoux.fr/java/dej/chap-jndi.htm https://cyberwatch.fr/cve/cve-2021-44228-log4shell-comment-detecter-et-corriger-cette-vulnerabilite-sur-Log4j/

https://logging.apache.org/Log4j/2.x/manual/lookups.html https://gist.github.com/SwitHak/b66db3a06c2955a9cb71a8718970c592 https://www.lunasec.io/docs/blog/Log4j-zero-day) https://www.cert.ssi.gouv.fr/alerte/CERTFR-2021-ALE-022/ https://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2021/12/13/log4shell-explained-how-it-works-why-you-need-to-know-and-how-to-fix-it/

https://support.f5.com/csp/article/K19026212 https://www.truesec.com/hub/blog/apache-log4j-injection-vulnerability-cve-2021-44228-impact-and-response https://www.cadosecurity.com/analysis-of-initial-in-the-wild-attacks-exploiting-log4shell-log4j-cve-2021-44228

Article rédigé par
Tristan Loret