• Perspective
Published on 11 March 2022

Cyber warfare: a retrospective analysis of one of the most dangerous viruses of the moment, the HermeticWiper

In recent years, we have seen the implementation of several initiatives launched by France as part of its national cybersecurity strategy with two overarching objectives:

  • Addressing the threats inherent in the digital transition of society and the economy (e.g. the France Relance programme)
  • Develop French cybersecurity champions (e.g. the Cyber Campus)

Indeed, cybersecurity is no longer an additional layer that we add at the end of a project or that we analyse from time to time, it has become an inherent part of any contact with the digital world. Regardless of age, profession or the way we interact with technology, the subject concerns us all.

Raising awareness among businesses and individuals about the impact of attacks and good security practices is still a big challenge today, and unfortunately this awareness is too often acquired after having suffered the consequences of a real attack.

In the context of the recent events between Ukraine and Russia, our teams were interested in the cyber warfare suffered by Ukraine in recent days. Indeed, due to the phenomenal expansion of digital technology in recent years, Ukraine is, like many countries, highly dependent on its computerised structures.

Shortly before the Russian invasion of Ukraine, Ukraine experienced a wave of cyber attacks aimed at paralysing the country. Amongst all the attacks revealed, a computer virus emerged. This virus is called "HermeticWiper", and it is particularly dangerous. Indeed, it uses techniques that hijack the various protection mechanisms in order to infect its host.

As a cybersecurity and IS performance consultancy, our teams look at how it works, the risks it entails and the best practices for protecting against this type of attack.

Tweet from ESET

First of all, it is important to remember that, despite the danger of this virus, a sine qua non condition for this virus to infect a system is the presence of a security flaw. As a reminder, a flaw can be human (an obvious human flaw technique is phishing, or more generally social engineering) as well as software (web server misconfiguration, use of obsolete components, etc.).

Let's start by understanding the etymology of this malware. HermeticWiper is composed of two words:

  • The name "Hermetic" comes from the company Hermetica Digital Ltd, whose previously stolen certificate was used to sign the software. Thanks to this certificate, HermeticWiper is identified by the various antivirus programs as official software issued by the aforementioned company. This amounts to an authorisation for HermeticWiper to be deployed on the victim system and thus cause the irreversible damage that we will detail. When an application is signed by a recognised authority, it means that this authority guarantees the origin and proper functioning of this application. Despite its dangerous nature, HermeticWiper is guaranteed by Hermetica Digital Ltd as safe software that can be run on the system in complete safety.
  • "Wiper" indicates the category of virus to which HermeticWiper belongs. The main purpose of this family of malware is to erase the data contained on the hard disks of infected hardware.

Furthermore, HermeticWiper is what we call a dormant virus. To be more precise, it acts very slowly in order to gain discretion. Finally, to make matters worse, this Wiper is notable for its ability to bypass Windows security features and gain write access to many low-level data structures on the disk.

In order to erase the contents of the hard disk, HermeticWiper starts by cutting up the individual files into small blocks or partitions. However, this technique alone is not completely irreversible. Indeed, some forensic experts are able to reconstruct files from the residues generated after partitioning. It should be noted, however, that the result is not guaranteed, that the time required to reconstitute a file is long and finally that only a handful of experts are currently capable of such a technical feat.

Because of its potential reversibility, the developers of HermeticWiper have resorted to an additional, age-old technique of overwriting partitioned data with random bit sequences to make the deleted data unrecoverable.

The following tweet illustrates HermeticWiper's logical process in a simplified way:

Tweet from Thomas Roccia

Here is a summary of the HermeticWiper execution logic:

  • First, it makes contact with the system through a security hole.
  • Then it downloads the active load.
  • Thanks to its official certificate, it runs without blocking on the Windows system
  • It looks for a scenario to gain privilege and obtains enough rights to write to the entire disk.
  • It then identifies the various files on the system.
  • It starts by corrupting user data.
  • Then comes the turn of the system functions.
  • Finally, it reboots the machine, effectively ending its life.

It is important to note that this process is slow. As mentioned earlier, HermeticWiper is a dormant virus. In order to escape the various control mechanisms, each step is slow and unobtrusive. If you notice corrupted files, it is not too late to save the system by investigating and removing this threat.

Many research teams are trying to uncover the mysteries of this virus. The most common technique in computer virus research is to identify the structure of the virus. Indeed, just as in molecular chemistry, understanding the structure of a computer virus makes it possible to isolate dangerous behaviour. Once the sequences have been identified, the data collected can be used to enrich the viral base of the various antiviruses in order to teach them to defend themselves in the event of an attack. This follows the same pattern as for the vaccine creation process.

Finally, the French research team 'Cyber-detect' succeeded in isolating the structure of HermeticWiper and published their work on 28 February:

Tweet from Cyber-Detect

However, there are many variants of this virus, and unfortunately, no stable solution has been provided to date to guarantee total protection against the threat posed by HermeticWiper. The best defence is, as always, to educate your employees about IT hygiene, to monitor strange IS behaviour (such as file corruption), to keep up to date with cyber news, and of course to make regular backups of critical data!

Authors: Florian Hoff and Raquel Garcia Frutos

References

https://blog.malwarebytes.com/threat-intelligence/2022/03/hermeticwiper-a-detailed-analysis-of-the-destructive-malware-that-targeted-ukraine/

https://france3-regions.francetvinfo.fr/grand-est/meurthe-et-moselle/nancy/guerre-en-ukraine-hermeticwiper-un-redoutable-virus-informatique-detecte-en-france-apres-s-etre-attaque-aux-administrations-ukrainiennes-2479702.html

https://www.economie.gouv.fr/cybersecurite-renforcement-gouvernement-protection-citoyens-administrations-entreprises

https://www.ssi.gouv.fr/particulier/actualite/lanssi-engagee-pour-promouvoir-la-souverainete-numerique-de-lue-lors-de-la-pfue/

 

 

 

Article written by
La Minute Cyber

• Perspective
Publié le 11 mars 2022

La guerre cyber : analyse rétrospective de l'un des virus les plus dangereux du moment, le HermeticWiper

Nous assistons, depuis quelques années, à la mise en place de plusieurs initiatives lancées par la France dans le cadre de sa stratégie nationale pour la cybersécurité ayant deux objectifs primordiaux :

  • Faire face aux menaces inhérentes à la transition numérique de la société et de l'économie (exemple : le programme France Relance)
  • Faire émerger des champions français de la cybersécurité (exemple : le Campus Cyber)

En effet, la cybersécurité n'est plus aujourd'hui une couche additionnelle que nous ajoutons à la fin d'un projet ou que nous analysons de temps en temps, elle est devenue une partie inhérente de tout contact avec le monde numérique. Peu importe l'âge, la profession ou le mode d'interaction avec la technologie, le sujet nous concerne tous.

La sensibilisation des entreprises et des particuliers sur les impacts des attaques et les bonnes pratiques de sécurité est un grand défi encore à l'heure actuelle, et malheureusement cette sensibilisation est trop souvent acquise après avoir souffert des conséquences d'une vraie attaque.

Dans le contexte des récents évènements opposant l’Ukraine à la Russie, nos équipes se sont intéressées à la cyberguerre subie par l’Ukraine ces derniers jours. En effet, en raison de l’expansion phénoménale du numérique ces dernières années, l’Ukraine est, comme beaucoup de pays, fortement dépendante de ses structures informatisées.

Peu de temps avant l’invasion de l’Ukraine par la Russie, l’Ukraine a connu une vague de cyberattaques ayant pour but de paralyser le pays. Parmi l’ensemble des attaques révélées, un virus informatique a émergé. Ce dernier se nomme : « HermeticWiper », et il est particulièrement dangereux. En effet, il utilise des techniques détournant les différents mécanismes de protection afin d’infecter son hôte.

En tant que cabinet de conseil en cybersécurité & performance du SI, nos équipes reviennent sur son fonctionnement, les risques qu’il comporte ainsi que les bonnes pratiques pour se prémunir de ce type d’attaques.

Tweet de la société ESET

Avant toute chose, il est important de rappeler que, malgré la dangerosité de ce virus, une condition sine qua non pour que ce virus infecte un système est la présence d’une faille de sécurité. Pour rappel, une faille peut être humaine (une technique évidente de faille humaine est l’hameçonnage, ou plus généralement l’ingénierie sociale) aussi bien que  logicielle (défaut de configuration d'un serveur web, utilisation de composants obsolètes, etc.).

Commençons tout d’abord par comprendre l'étymologie de ce logiciel malveillant. HermeticWiper est composé de deux mots :

  • "Hermetic" vient de la société Hermetica Digital Ltd dont le certificat préalablement dérobé a été utilisé afin de signer le logiciel. Grâce à ce certificat, HermeticWiper est identifié par les différents antivirus comme un logiciel officiel délivré par la société susmentionnée. Cela revient à une autorisation pour HermeticWiper d’être déployé sur le système victime et ainsi causer les dommages irréversibles que nous allons détailler. Lorsqu’une application est signée par une autorité reconnue, cela signifie que cette autorité garantit la provenance et le bon fonctionnement de cette application. Malgré son caractère dangereux, HermeticWiper est garanti par la société Hermetica Digital Ltd comme logiciel sûr pouvant être exécuté sur le système en toute sécurité.
  • "Wiper" indique la catégorie de virus à laquelle HermeticWiper appartient. Cette famille de malware a pour objectif principal d’effacer les données contenues sur les disques durs du matériel infecté.

De surcroît, HermeticWiper est ce que nous appelons un virus dormant. Pour être plus précis, il agit très lentement afin de gagner en discrétion. Enfin, pour ne rien arranger, ce Wiper est remarquable pour sa capacité à contourner les fonctionnalités de sécurité de Windows et à accéder avec des droits d'écriture à de nombreuses structures de données de bas niveau sur le disque.

Afin d’effacer le contenu du disque dur, HermeticWiper commence par découper les différents fichiers en petits blocs ou encore partitions. Cependant, cette technique seule n’est pas totalement irréversible. En effet, certains experts en analyse forensic sont capables de reconstituer des fichiers à partir des résidus générés après partition. Notons toutefois que le résultat n’est pas garanti, que le temps demandé pour reconstituer un fichier est long et enfin que seule une poignée d’experts est aujourd’hui capable d'une telle prouesse technique.

De par sa potentielle réversibilité, les développeurs d'HermeticWiper ont eu recourt à une technique supplémentaire, vieille comme le monde, consistant à réécrire par-dessus les données partitionnées avec des séquences de bits aléatoires afin de rendre irrécupérable les données effacées.

Le tweet suivant illustre de façon simplifiée le processus logique de HermeticWiper :

Tweet de Thomas Roccia

Voici un résumé du schéma logique de l’exécution de HermeticWiper :

  • Tout d’abord, il entre en contact avec le système en empruntant une faille de sécurité.
  • Ensuite, il télécharge la charge active.
  • Grâce à son certificat officiel, il s’exécute sans blocage sur le système Windows
  • Il recherche un scénario pour monter en privilège et obtient suffisamment de droits pour écrire sur l’ensemble du disque.
  • Il identifie par la suite les différents fichiers du système.
  • Il commence par corrompre les données utilisateur.
  • Puis vient le tour des fonctions du système.
  • Enfin, il redémarre la machine, mettant effectivement fin à la vie de cette dernière.

Il est important de noter que ce processus est lent. Comme mentionné précédemment, HermeticWiper est un virus dormant. Afin d’échapper aux divers mécanismes de contrôles, chaque étape est lente et discrète. Si vous remarquez des fichiers corrompus, il n’est pas trop tard pour sauver le système en investiguant et supprimant cette menace.

De nombreuses équipes de chercheurs tentent de découvrir les mystères de ce virus. La technique la plus répandue en recherche virale informatique consiste en l’identification de la structure de ce dernier. En effet, tout comme en chimie moléculaire, comprendre la structure d’un virus informatique permet d’isoler des comportements dangereux. Une fois les séquences identifiées, les données recueillies permettent d’enrichir la base virale des différents antivirus afin de leur apprendre à se défendre en cas d’attaque. Cela suit le même schéma que pour le processus de création de vaccins.

Finalement, l'équipe de chercheurs français « Cyber-detect » a réussi à isoler la structure de HermeticWiper et a publié ses travaux le 28 février :

Tweet de Cyber-Detect

Il existe cependant de nombreux variants de ce virus, et malheureusement, aucune solution stable n’a été apportée à ce jour pour garantir une protection totale contre la menace que représente HermeticWiper. La meilleure défense consiste donc, comme toujours, à sensibiliser ses employés sur l'hygiène informatique, à surveiller les comportements étranges de son SI (comme la corruption de fichiers), à suivre les actualités cyber, et bien sûr à faire des sauvegardes régulières des données critiques !

Auteurs : Florian Hoff et Raquel Garcia Frutos

Références

https://blog.malwarebytes.com/threat-intelligence/2022/03/hermeticwiper-a-detailed-analysis-of-the-destructive-malware-that-targeted-ukraine/

https://france3-regions.francetvinfo.fr/grand-est/meurthe-et-moselle/nancy/guerre-en-ukraine-hermeticwiper-un-redoutable-virus-informatique-detecte-en-france-apres-s-etre-attaque-aux-administrations-ukrainiennes-2479702.html

https://www.economie.gouv.fr/cybersecurite-renforcement-gouvernement-protection-citoyens-administrations-entreprises

https://www.ssi.gouv.fr/particulier/actualite/lanssi-engagee-pour-promouvoir-la-souverainete-numerique-de-lue-lors-de-la-pfue/

 

 

 

Article rédigé par
La Minute Cyber